Guyot Prize Symposium 29 October 2019 "Advances in biological otology"

The Guyot Prize is the oldest scientific prize awarded by the University of Groningen. The prize is awarded for outstanding achievements in auditory science and otology. It has been awarded every five years since 1914. Earlier recipients include C. Hallpike (awarded 1969), Eelco Huizinga (1964) and later Nobel prize winners Robert Barany (1914) and Georg von Bekesy (1939). The prize is named after Henri Daniel Guyot, who founded the school for the deaf in Groningen in 1790, the first of its kind in The Netherlands.

This year the prize is awarded to prof. Tobias Moser from the Georg-August-Universität in Göttingen, Germany, for his contribution to our understanding of the synapses in the inner ear and to the development on an optogenetic cochlear implant. We will celebrate the 2019 Guyot prize with a symposium entitled "Advances in Biological Otology". You are cordially invited to take part in the festive event.

Deniz Baskent Pim van Dijk Bernard van der Laan Sonja Pyott

Participation is without cost. However, registration is required in order to allow us to plan the event. Please visit << website address>>

Accreditatie van het programma wordt aangevraagd bij de Nederlandse Vereniging voor KNO-Heelkunde en de Nederlandse Vereniging voor Klinische Fysica.

Guyot Prize Symposium 29 October 2019 "Advances in biological otology"

12:15 Arrival, coffee, tea (Blauwe patio)

12:50 Opening

13:00 Hannie Kremer (Radboud University) – Genetics of hearing impairment, a symphony of man and mouse

13:30 Sonja Pyott (University Medical Center Groningen) – Molecular regulators of the hair cells, auditory neurons, and their synapses

14:00 Christina Fuller (University Medical Center Groningen) – The early-deafened, late-implanted cochlear implant user

14:30 Break

15:00 Tobias Moser (Georg-August-Universität, Göttingen) – Towards the Optical Cochlear Implant: Optogenetic Stimulation of the Auditory Pathway
15:45 Pim van Dijk (University Medical Center Groningen) – The Guyot Prize
16:00 Marian Joëls (Dean, University Medical Center Groningen) - Award Ceremony

Reception (Blauwe patio)